What happens to my Computing Account when I leave or graduate from UC Davis?
Campus Email Account
Students currently on the DavisMail system will retain their campus email address and email account indefinitely unless Google ends their contract for DavisMail, or the service is discontinued. Once your computing account has closed, you will no longer be able to access DavisMail via myucdavis. The link below has been provided for continued access to your DavisMail account:
This does not extend to students in programs associated with the School of Medicine, School of Nursing, Public Health, and other specialized programs that are not a part of Davismail.
If you are using any electronic communications resources, such as an email address, for incidental personal use (e.g. for a login address to a non-UC Davis web page) it is strongly encouraged that you switch to using a personal non-UC Davis email address so you do not lose access to those sites or services.
NOTE: If you have been using your email@example.com and not your firstname.lastname@example.org, you will need to change that where ever you use it as email@example.com will no longer continue to deliver email to you.
You can choose to forward your email to an external address before your account closes. For more information visit the following url and selecting Email Forwarding:
Your Kerberos passphrase will be required to setup email forwarding on your account. If you have forgotten your kerberos passphrase, options for passphrase reset can be found here.
Email will only be forwarded for your MailID@ucdavis.edu email address.
Once your UC Davis computing account has closed, you will no longer be able to access campus-hosted services such as myucdavis, Office 365, UC Davis Canvas, UC Davis Zoom, and SISweb. If you have registered any computer MAC Addresses for use on RESnet, they will be de-registered during the closure process. Access to UC Davis campus computer labs and the Eduroam wireless network will also be discontinued during the closure process.
When your computing account is closes and you want to change the lists you are subscribed to, please see this page to log in to Sympa appropriately. From there, you can unsubscribe from any lists you no longer want to receive mail from.
Access to library services and online materials will also be closed during the process. For a comprehensive list library privileges please visit:
SISweb & Transcripts
If you wish to retain a copy of your unofficial transcripts, you can log in to SISweb to print or save a copy before your account closes. Once your computing account has closed, you can still order official transcripts from the registrar, by visiting the following url:
How do I extend my account access after closure?
Without an active faculty, staff, or student record, all UC Davis Computing Accounts begin an automatic closure process. If you are currently on filing-fee, this can also start the closure process since it is not an active student status. If you need the account for university-related purposes, you can be sponsored with a Temporary Affiliate Form (TAF). An active faculty or staff member will need to submit the TAF on your behalf to reactivate your computing account for up to one year.
For more information on the TAF process and where to refer your sponsor, please see the following page: http://taf.ucdavis.edu